And the Winner Is...

IMPORTANT: if you are listed here, you qualified for the Best of the Year Gala August 25-27, also in Green Bay. All lodging and Gala ticketing (tickets selling out shortly as we pre-sold 150 seats for the Room 108 premiere in it) info about this can be found at the bottom of this pdf document. Also at the bottom is all trophy-ordering info.

Best M-obster-Flavored Film

Wild Card: Gin, Jose Alberto Castillo

Winners: Among the Willows, Jeffrey Smith

The Last Stop, Joe Hawk

Best L-atino-Flavored Film

Wild Card: Gin, Jose Alberto Castillo

Winner: Confini, Piero De Luca

Best C-omedy- Flavored Film

Wild Card: The Unbelieve-a-Bowl Schlatts, Allison Marx

Winners: A Stable Holiday, Jess Elfring-Roberts

The Good Brunch, Sophie Cohn

Best Animated Film

Wild Card: The Happy Statue, Tony Pham

Winner: Animated Life, Jason Love

Best Midwest-Made Short

Wild Card: Friday Night Blind, Scott Krahn & Rob Fischer

Winners: Up River, Fritzy (WI)

The Veil, Nick Albaracin (IL)

Best Midwest-Made Feature

Wild Card: It Came from Somewhere, Steve Hermann & Ashley Hefner
Winner: Into the Valley, Stephen Folker

Best Western/Mob/Psycho Film

Wild Card: All for a Filthy Star, *Daniele Bertoli*Winners: Among the Willows, *Jeffrey Smith*Frontera, *Martin Michiels*

Best Adventure-Fantasy-VFX Film

Wild Cards: The Veil, *Nick Albaracin*Raven's Last Prophecy, *Maria Brenda*Winners: Up River, *Fritzy*Shop at the Edge of Town, *Cailin Tamplin*

Best Series Episode

Wild Card: This is Paradise, *Kareem J Mortimer*, *Henrietta Cartwright & Lavado Stubbs*Winner: Cacio E Papa Ep. 3, *Aaron Rathbone*

Best Original Idea in a Film

Wild Cards: The Service, Julie O'hora
Friday Night Blind, Scott Krahn & Robb Fischer
Winner: DLC, Adaylia Tatyana Shiman

Best Alternative Reality Film

Wild Cards: SYOTOS, S Edward Eastep
Enter the Room, Harry Waldman

Winner: It Came from Somewhere, Steve Hermann & Ashley Hefner

Best Documentary

Wild Cards: Dairyland, Taylor C Pipes

People of the Port: The Story of Milwaukee's Jones Island, Claudia Looze

Winner: Malpelo: Mountain of Sharks, Kevin Mannens

Best Actor - Lead Role

Wild Cards: Ryo Tajima, Homecoming Hitchhike
Lau'rie Roach, Witnessed

Winner: Joseph Sernio, Loved

Best Actress - Lead Role

Wild Cards: Maria Brenda, *Raven's Last Prophecy*Lisa Bertoldo, *Lindy Lou*Winner: Debby Gerber, *Loved*

Best Overall Film Score

Wild Cards: June, *Dwayne Cameron*Shop at the Edge of Town, Jeremy *Oliveria*Winner: Fatwa, *Sanjiv-Darshan*

Best Spanish Speaking Film

Wild Card: Los Angeles del Revolver, *Martin Michiels*Winner: Gin, *Jose Alberto Castillo*

Best Song in Film

Wild Cards: Distance, Bianca Sass
Lindy Lou, Lisa Bertoldo
Winner: W.B.L., William Guenfissi

Best Film Editing

Wild Card: Herman, Ira Childs & Lionel L Chapman
Winners: Bugaloo, Peter McCarthy & Ben Conway
Fatwa, Patrik Gautam

Best Cinematography

Wild Card: All for a Filthy Star, Daniele Bartoli
Winners: June, Dwayne Cameron
Shop at the Edge of Town, Elijah Brune & Time Johns

Promising/Young Actor/Actress

Wild Cards: Tanaa Jones, *Spark*Annabelle Layland, *Suzie*, *Meet Santa Claus*Winner: Mackenzie Fouts, *Among the Willows*

Memorable M-obster (Drama, Crime ...) individual Performance

Wild Card: Moe Dunford, Bugaloo

Winner: Marshall Gluskin, Shop at the Edge of Town

Memorable L-atino Flavored Individual Performance

Wild Card: Gianpaolo Gentile, *All for a Filthy Star*Winner: Mario Carneiro, *The Last Stop*

Memorable C-omedic Individual Performance

Wild Card: Julie Zimmerman, *The Unbelieve-A-Bowl Schlatts*Winner: Aaron Rathbone, *Cacio e Papa Ep. 3*

Outstanding Supporting Roles

Wild Card: John Schakel Jr, Confessions of a Sailor Winner: Magdelena Conway, It Came From Somewhere

Outstanding Ensemble Performance

Wild Card: Jordan Schroeter and Melonie Gartner, The Rose of Sharon

Winner: Aaron Hill & Elle Laesh, A Cloudy Moon

Strong Filmmaking Talent in a Film

Wild Card: Tyler Smith, Among the Willows

Taylor C Pipes, Dairyland

Winner: Kurt Krauss, Confessions of a Sailor

Best Series Potential in a Film

Wild Card: The Rose of Sharon, Jordan Schroeter

Winners: Herman, Ira Childs & Lionel L Chapman

The Washerwoman, *Obi Ejikeme*

Outstanding SFX Work

Wild Cards: The Veil, Nick Albaracin

People of the Port: The Story of Milwaukee's Jones Island, Anthony Wood

Winner: DLC, Adalya Shiman

Production w/ Outstanding Voice/Narration Quality

Wild Cards: True Stories with Titles Ep. 1

Castling

Winner: People of The Port: The Story of Milwaukee's Jones Island

Best MLC Jewel (Musical, Silent, Experimental Videos or Films)

Wild Card: W.B.L, William Guenfissi

Winners: Animated Life, Jason Love

My Ideas Turn into Insects, Bill Richardson

Best Color Treatment in a Film

Wild Card: Fatwa, Patrik Gautam

Winners: June, Dwayne Cameron

Gin, Jose Alberto Castillo

Audience Choice for Best Scene-acting in a Feature Film

Rebecca Derenne for Room 108: The Clearing

Rachel Wolfe-Micek for Room 108: The Clearing

Jolee Jackson for Room 108: The Clearing

Laura Benesh for Room 108: The Clearing

Isaac Baldwin for Room 108: The Clearing

Joni Kapp for Room 108: The Clearing

Mary Spencer for Room 108: The Clearing

Freddy Moyano for Room 108: The Clearing

Order your keepsake trophy to memorialize your winnings on

https://www.mlcawards.com/awardtrophies

Enter your winnings on IMDb (we do not do this for you... just scroll down to the bottom of the below page on IMDb and click on Edit Page) by visiting

https://www.imdb.com/event/ev0014753/2023/1/

Best Script of the Year Nominees

Scripts less than 30 pages

- 1. "Not My Secret To Tell" by Karla S. Bryant
 - 2. "The Good Brunch" by Sophie Cohn

Scripts over 30 pages

- 1. "Apache" by Adam Seidel
- 2. "Slush Turtles" by Celia Ramsey

IMPORTANT REMINDERS:

Book your discounted stay for the Best of the Year Gala August 25-28 by calling St. Brendan's Inn, ONLY WHEN YOU CALL THEM (not valid for online booking) AND MENTION THE MLC AWARDS AS YOUR REASON TO STAY THAT WEEKEND at (920) 884-8484.

There is a preseason Packer game in town and other hotels double their rates. St. Brendan's will honor the discounted rate. Plus the August 26 screenings will happen at St. Brendan's. Everyone (filmmaker, actors, etc.) will need a ticket for the Best of the Year MLC Scene Awards Gala.

Gala tickets are soon selling out on https://www.filmfreeway.com/sceneawards/tickets

If you are a FilmFreeway submitter, we thank you for reviewing us on filmfreeway.com/mlcawards

New season for the MLC Awards starts July 3. It will go all year (no qualifiers this time) and the fest gala will be held the weekend before Labor Day weekend in Green Bay (August 2024).